Enterprise Software Veteran Joins BackBox Board of Directors

Austin-based Rita Selvaggi was named Elsewhere Partners operating partner last week.

Dallas-based network automation company BackBox announced that IT software industry leader Rita Selvaggi has joined its board of directors.

In a statement, Selvaggi expressed her belief that BackBox is a hidden gem for automating essential network tasks.

“BackBox may be the best-kept secret for automating network backups, single-click recovery, OS upgrades, and health checks,” she said. “Customers love BackBox because it’s easy to implement and use, scalable, reliable, and trustworthy.”

As hybrid networks become more complex and resource constraints on network operations teams increase, Selvaggi also stressed this kind of automation is a “must have.”

Austin-based Selvaggi was named Elsewhere Partners operating partner last week.

BackBox said that Selvaggi brings extensive experience in all aspects of go-to-market strategy and operations to its board. She has led Enterprise software companies through periods of high growth, most recently as CEO of ActivTrak and as CMO of AlienVault, a security software company acquired by AT&T.

Selvaggi led marketing for SolarWinds leading up to and through an IPO in 2009.

She will focus on supporting the company’s executive team, including CEO Andrew Kahl, whose background includes stints at NetApp, Sailpoint, and Credant Technologies, a leading security software firm that Dell acquired.

“With Rita’s expertise in marketing and rapidly scaling several companies that serve a similar customer base, she adds the firepower we need to get to the next level,” Kahl said in a statement. “It’s huge validation to have her on the team, supporting our mission to help companies streamline complex tasks, ensure network health and performance, and ultimately do more with less.”

Backbox’s platform supports more than 180 vendors with thousands of pre-built automations and a scripting-free way to build new ones. Backbox headquarters is in Addison.

Get on the list.
Dallas Innovates, every day.

Sign up to keep your eye on what’s new and next in Dallas-Fort Worth, every day.

One quick signup, and you’re done.  

R E A D   N E X T

  • Plano ISD partners with Capital One for the Savings Success program to take some of the myths out of money and turn them into financial facts.

  • In this week’s roundup of hires, promotions, and accolades in North Texas, you’ll also find news from Exela Technologies, Newmark, OrangeGrid, RailPros, Aimbridge Hospitality, Integrity Marketing Group, Smoothie King, Bank of Texas, MD7, Salvation Army, and more. Plus, you'll find board appointments including Texas Mutual Insurance, Zimperium, and the Ebby Halliday Foundation.

  • Seven new members of the Dallas Entrepreneur Center's fiduciary board were announced by The DEC Network Board Chair Tim Hill. The nonprofit said that the new members bring a wealth of experience and knowledge in various industries and will be instrumental in helping it achieve its mission of helping entrepreneurs start, build, and grow their businesses. The following individuals have been named to the board of directors: Bryan Robert, VP, Veritex Community Bank Chase Murphy, Tax Partner, Baker Tilley David Cherrie, CEO, Arcade Hayden Meredith, VP Technology & Disruptive Commerce, JPMorganChase Ichan Stall, Founder, Entrepreneur, Angel Investor, and Mentor       Keith…

  • Paul Quinn College President Michael Sorrell has a vision for a global network of Urban Work Colleges that take aim at intergenerational poverty and "smash it." The first one opened in Plano in 2018. Accepting a leadership award from the Collin County Business Alliance, Sorrell asked his staff and students to stand up. Why? Because "they're going to come see you and talk to you about hiring students to work at your companies," Sorrell told the audience filled with local business leaders. "And I want everyone to practice this with me: 'Yes.'

  • TWF welcomes leaders from The Pillow Bar, Capital One, and Goldman Sachs to its board of directors. They will join a board of 41 members led by foundation chair Hilda Galvan.